2012 Running Goals

Its only October and I’m already making goals for next year?? Yep, you bet!

Loosely, I would like to see myself racing every month, 5K, 10K, and HM. I don’t know how this will pan out, but it should be doable given that I live in the bay area.

5K time
My 5K PR was at 28:35. This will be fairly easy to beat since it was my first race ever, with barely any training.
Inspired by Sesa , I decide to secretly set my 2012 5K goal to sub25. How in the hell I’m going to obtain this? I don’t have the faintest idea, but I may give Sesa’s plan a try, using the Couch to 5K, but obviously, you will be running the run portion at or near your goal pace, not just jogging while talking on the phone and taking picture pace. She suggested that to do it like a pyramid, starting at 9:xx and increasing the pace to spare me from dying early on.
If anyone has other suggestions, please let me know!

Sub2 Half Marathon
I never thought about doing this when I ran my first half marathon. I honestly thought it would be like a bucket list item for me to check off, and I have no idea how long it usually takes for someone to complete a half marathon. now that I’m more serious in running, I really would like to complete one within 2hrs. I ran the easier half of the SFM at 2:05, and recently, my PR at the Nike Women’s Marathon (half) at 2:04:10. I should be quite proud of myself, being as lazy as I am as a runner, (whoa, did I just called myself a runner???), the course was very hilly, and I really really hate hills, I think I did the best I can, even though I’m still quite embarrassed that I walked quite a bit.
Could I’ve run a sub2 if the course were flat? Honestly, I don’t know. While I freakn crawl up the hills, again, I’m not exaggerating…. Who runs their hilly portion of the race 2-3 minutes/mile slower????

Miscellaneous goals that are running related:

  • Try to have a running plan and stick with it
  • Take training paces seriously, meaning, do not try to chase pace during my long runs. I have to admit, I run my long runs quite a bit faster than what I should be doing base on my fitness level. In my mind, I kept thinking that if I run it faster, say at 9min/mile, I will able to sustain a 8:30min/mile for 13 miles. WRONG- this actually mademy long runs quite miserable, and my race time did not improve.
  • Do not cut down the number of intervals I’m scheduled to do, if I am unable to finish them, it means that I think I am fitter than I really am, so slow down.
  • Try to enjoy races rather than thinking that I have to PR every race, I don’t want running to become a stressful thing.

When I feel lazy, and start to make excuse, just remember this:

HAPPY MONDAY!!!

4 responses to “2012 Running Goals

  • glasshalffull83

    Some amazing things you’re aiming for this year! Like you I’ve always hated running, but found a couch to 5k and have been addicted ever since. I’ve just started writing about my journey towards a half marathon – good luck for the rest of your training
    xoxo

  • lazy chick

    Checking out your blog! Good luck on your goal!! Just remember, your first half, goal is to finish, and you’re guarantee a PR! :) thanks for stopping by!

  • Naomi

    Great goals to have and way to get a jump start on the new year! I wish I could offer you more advice on the 5K goal. My 5K PR is 2 yrs old and I doubt I could still beat it today.

  • lazy chick

    Yes you can Naomi!! Let’s see your goal for next year!! I’m also planning to try Yoga out after reading your article!

Leave a Reply

