5K really is not my thing

This is my race report from a trail race put on by the amazing race org- Brazen!!

Drag N Fly- love the name. Drag your ass up the hill, and fly down the other side. (not)

Great things about this race??

  • Race day exactly on my birthday Sept, 8th. Brazen gives out medals to all distance finishers, so it's extra special for me to have a medal with my birth date engraved!!
  • I placed first in my age group! For the first time, holy cow. This may be a norm for a lot of people, but rare for me, I'm always #4. My secret goal for this race was to get an AG place, so I opted for the 5k because I do not have hill endurance for 10k, and this gives me the best odds! 1/20 in my age group, not too shabby. But wait, what's my time?
  • 29:51, avg pace: 9:08 —- no, my math is not wrong, brazen calculated the pace based on the actual length of the course, which was 3.25.

 

Running on these dirt pack road with holes all over… Since I don't have my right ACL, I gotta be extra careful.

Nearly fainted when I saw this, little did I know this was not the only one,

Who in the hell place first with a 29:51 time on a 5K?? I know 5k is not my strong suit, since I do not like the near death feeling, but this is a minute and 21 seconds slower than my very first 5k when I did not even know what pace was.

Anyhow… The race, let me just repeat, I do not like hills, I hate hills, I die on hills and it's not fun. After running on grass with holes for 100m, I met hill number 1 and I wanted to walk already. Let just say, that was a baby hill.

Mile 1: 8:27- pretty good considering the hills

Mile 2: 10:45 – cannot effing deal with those hills, even with the downhills, the rocks and sand..omg (NEAR DEATH)

Mile 3: 8:50- too tired to run after the hills tired me

Mile 4 (0.27)- 8:30

 

After the race, I stick around because I was pretty sure I was able to place , since I looked around I didn't see any older looking woman (my age) was around. Yep, first place. Very happy getting this, albeit a little bit embarassed.

 

Greet birthdy gift!!

However, this stressed me out a bit. Will the hills at Nike do this to me? Throw me off so bad that I cannot continue with my pace even on downhills and flats?

 

How do y'all deal with hilly races?

 

 

 

 

 


One response to “5K really is not my thing

Leave a comment